Mail from Andrew Christopher Roberts Sr (March 14, 2008)

My mom emailed me your site. My name is Andrew Christopher Roberts Sr.. Bill is my father. Surprise! I was born 8/1/1961 as Hillel mentioned they met in Nevada that year, where Bill was divorcing my mother. I never met him until I was 15. We hooked up in sfo. 2249 Fillmore St. Never forget that place. Billy was blown away by how much him was in me though we had never met! I too was an aspiring songwriter, singer, harp player rythym guitar (not quite player at that point), there was a lot more to Billy than many people know…..master martial, artist, samuri, sun-don akido master, marksman, genius, beautiful, tortured soul,lover, extraodinaire man, the incredible woman folk that would line up,just to take a ride on the w.m.r.railroad and get their own heart broke. I’m 46 now, and I lost track of Billy very shortly after the accident in 92′. His mother snatched him up, tucked him away somewhere, and told none where he was or how he was. Until I came across a site about him I didn’t know if he was dead or alive, and I’ve been searching for him ever since. He doesn’t know that he is a grandfather of the world’s most wonderful ten year old boy, Andrew jr. If you or any one out there knows his whereabouts I would be forever grateful for that knowledge, If billy is still holdin’ on like the tough old bear that he is, I would love for he and his grandson to meet before it’s to late. You see my days are numberd on this big blue marble, due to numerous health issues and I would love the chance to introduce theese two very incredible poeple, thanks for your time.
Andy Roberts
P.S. The chick who claims that Bill stole Hey Joe from her is wrong! (orginal espression for wrong edited by Jan Marius) The song was written as a parody to the old song Frankie and Johnny, and he had my mother on his mind! So we can put that nonsense to rest once and for all!

This entry was posted in E-mail to Jan Marius and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mail from Andrew Christopher Roberts Sr (March 14, 2008)

  1. Drew Morone says:

    I just now heard the Cher cover of Hey Joe. Umm. heavy. haha

    Anyway, I wanted to mention that my sister was dating Andy Roberts around the time he met his father. Seeing pictures of Billy and hearing stories about him is like hearing stories about Andy. It’s really incredible.

    I probably haven’t seen or spoken with Andy in nearly 30 years, so I can only speak about him then, but I can say this, Andy had this enormous light inside of him. Back in our small home town his nickname was “shorty”, but he was a giant. Andy would fill up a room as soon as he walked into it. He was extremely smart and talented and just had this HUGE personality. I think some people didn’t get it, or maybe they didn’t like it, but I did. As a young kid, he had big influence on how I see and appreciate people. Folks like Andy, to me, are like saints. They open up and bleed, and in a way they’re taking a bullet for the rest of us folks who can’t or won’t.

    When I see pictures of Billy as a young man, I feel like I’m looking at Andy. He is really his father’s son.

  2. Nancy Roberts says:

    Hi Drew,
    Thank you for the beautiful description of Andy. I married such an incredible man. Sadly, Andy succumbed to lung cancer on October 30, 2010. He was a fighter until the end, and he made his peace with God. Andy never did find his father, and our son, Andrew Roberts Jr., now 13, has never met his grandfather. If anyone reading this can point me in the right direction, Andrew Jr. and I would greatly appreciate it. I tell the tale of Billy Roberts whenever I hear Hey Joe. I think Billy would love to meet his grandson and daughter-in-law. Send all email to nmrob2004@yahoo.com.

  3. Erik Bluhm says:

    Well, if you’ve heard her song it’s pretty clear she came up with the chords and call and response.

Leave a Reply

